Unconditional Love

Last Saturday morning, Sebastien woke up and realized that there was no coffee left in the house. So he got dressed and walked three blocks to Zabar’s for a bag of freshly ground coffee beans. He returned and made a pot of coffee.

Curious, I stood up from the couch and walked to the kitchen.

Sebastien turned and handed me a fresh cup of coffee with milk–just the way I like it.

This wasn’t the first time my loving husband fixed me a beverage. Thinking fondly of a previous occasion, I looked deep into his eyes and said, “I hope the coffee cup is clean this time.”

To which he replied, “You can just go straight to hell.”

 

About JadedBride

Amy Kraft is a print and radio journalist based in New York. Her work has appeared in publications including Scientific American, Discover, Popular Science, The Week, Psychology Today, and Distillations, a podcast out of the Chemical Heritage Foundation. She is currently working on a book of humor essays. View all posts by JadedBride

One response to “Unconditional Love

  • larussoanthony

    Too funny. My state of kitchen-sharing duties is quite similar with my Partner. Not even sure I’d really notice the cup was dirty (“Whaddya mean? It was only used once just this morning for a very similar beverage.”)

Leave a Reply

