Why a Tailor Should Offer Delivery

The tailor that I use is a block away from my apartment, but in the opposite direction I generally travel. So it took me a while before I had the energy and motivation to take my dress to him to get hemmed. I did consider just using a handful of safety pins, but I don’t know where else to get them other than my grandma’s house.

So, I managed to crawl out of my cave to drop of the dress at the tailor’s. He said it would be ready in a week. My heart sank. That meant I had to go one block out of my way again to pick the dress up.

If I knew planning a wedding required this much effort, I might have reconsidered.

Why did I have to wear a gown? We’re going to have a photographer so he can just Photoshop in some new clothes. I know I’m already going to ask him to airbrush in a few celebrities on the group shots.

For the record, my original idea for a wedding was to have a Halloween theme. I wish more people had agreed with me.

I still might be able to pull together a Power Rangers costume just in case I don’t get the dress in time.

About JadedBride

Amy Kraft is a print and radio journalist based in New York. Her work has appeared in publications including Scientific American, Discover, Popular Science, The Week, Psychology Today, and Distillations, a podcast out of the Chemical Heritage Foundation. She is currently working on a book of humor essays. View all posts by JadedBride

Leave a Reply

