Where My BISSES At?

Let’s just be clear about one thing. I think the movie Bridesmaids was pure crap. The jokes were predictable, over-the-top and lasted for way too long. This film might have been funny if the humor didn’t seem so forced: I wouldn’t have been surprised if they used a laugh track.

Now that’s not the only reason I am not having bridesmaids at my wedding, but it helped in making my decision.

I’m not having bridesmaids at my wedding mainly because there is not going to be a ceremony. I also don’t believe in compelling people to wear a particular outfit, rehearse a task as simple as walking, etc, etc. I’m trying to get people to attend my winter wedding, not give them more reasons to find a way out of coming.

That’s not to say that being a bridesmaid is a difficult task. I was the maid of honor for my sister’s wedding and it was the easiest gig I ever had. I just let all of the other bridesmaids do the planning and I showed up.

Having bridesmaids meant that I would have had to rank my friends in some random order and assign them special responsibilities during the reception. Frankly, that seemed like more work for me so I opted out.

However, in keeping with the spirit of weddings, and for those friends of mine who feel they should be highlighted as a close friend or special person in my life, I will gladly give them the title of being my BIS (Bridesmaid in Spirit).

How does a person become a BIS? It’s easy. Anyone who wants to can be one. Husbands, relatives, even dead royalty from the Middle Ages can be a BIS at my wedding. If you’re not sure if we’re close enough for you to be my BIS, it doesn’t matter. Be one anyway. If you think you might be a BIS and don’t care for the title, that’s fine by me too. My BISSES have no responsibilities and they don’t even have to show up.

Now, where my BISSES at?

About JadedBride

Amy Kraft is a print and radio journalist based in New York. Her work has appeared in publications including Scientific American, Discover, Popular Science, The Week, Psychology Today, and Distillations, a podcast out of the Chemical Heritage Foundation. She is currently working on a book of humor essays. View all posts by JadedBride

Leave a Reply

