Chocolate is also the way to my Wallet

“You look like you have some more questions?” the photographer said. After spending a half hour showing us his extensive portfolio and talking about his experience, I was still suspicious–it’s my natural state. I needed to think of a quick response to hide my true feeling.

“No, it’s just time for my sugar fix,” I said. “I need a cookie.”

Good answer, I thought.

“Do you like cupcakes?” he said.

“Yeah.”

He reached into his bag and pulled out two cupcakes and a brownie from Crumbs. He said I could have one because his wife was on a diet and wouldn’t eat it. I had noticed the ring on his finger and assumed that he was not married and put the ring on for show. You know, to make him more likable to the getting married crowd.

I looked at the artery-clogging offerings with interest. This man was certainly playing his cards right. Everyone knows that chocolate is the way to get to someone. Sebastien used that trick on me five years ago. He would meet me after work with bite-sized pieces of chocolate he saved up from his coffee break, no doubt to ensure that I would never leave. And it worked.

I reached for the brownie and knew this was the wedding photographer for us. (Now I just hope he can Photoshop my fat ass if I keep eating like this.)

About JadedBride

Amy Kraft is a print and radio journalist based in New York. Her work has appeared in publications including Scientific American, Discover, Popular Science, The Week, Psychology Today, and Distillations, a podcast out of the Chemical Heritage Foundation. She is currently working on a book of humor essays. View all posts by JadedBride

Leave a Reply

