The Secret to a Lasting Marriage

I thought I knew everything there was to know about Sebastien. But a few weeks ago, I returned home to find him watching Conan the Barbarian. I tried to ignore it at first, hoping that it was just one big, innocent mistake. You know, he meant to buy The Dark Knight or Planet of the Apes and he picked up Conan the Barbarian by accident. I sat at the table and watched him, waiting for the moment when he finally realized that it was the wrong movie. It never happened. Instead, I was growing more and more agitated with every battle scene that flashed across the screen.

I grabbed a book and went into the bedroom, but I could still hear the cries of war through our paper thin walls. I was out of places to go. (That’s what you get for a $2500 apartment in Manhattan.)

I went on the computer and started smacking in search terms on google to find something to do outside. I could go to the movies or hang out with a friend. But it was doubtful that I would ever return.

And then, as if some computer programmed guardian angel felt my pain, an ad popped up on the screen for the one item that would make this marriage work.

Sony MDR-IF240RK Wireless Headphone System

Here’s what one customer had to say:

4.0 out of 5 stars Another factor in a successful marriage,September 21, 2011
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Sony MDR-IF240RK Wireless Headphone System (Electronics)

I’m a light sleeper as is my Wife. When I wake up and can’t get back to sleep, I’ll turn on the wide screen in the bedroom and wear the wireless Sony headphones.

About JadedBride

Amy Kraft is a print and radio journalist based in New York. Her work has appeared in publications including Scientific American, Discover, Popular Science, The Week, Psychology Today, and Distillations, a podcast out of the Chemical Heritage Foundation. She is currently working on a book of humor essays. View all posts by JadedBride

Leave a Reply

